Our People

 

We rely on our faculty and staff – their enthusiasm, their talent and their commitment:

Faculty


Name Position Email Office Phone Fax
Scott Dunbar Department Head;
Associate Professor
wsd@mining.ubc.ca FF 517F 604 822 4725 604 822 5599
Andrea Arduini Lecturer – Mining Engineering aarduini@mining.ubc.ca 604 827 5089 604 822 5599
Davide Elmo Assistant Professor
Undergraduate Advisor
delmo@mining.ubc.ca FF 513 604 822 9304 604 822 5599
Maria Holuszko Assistant Professor;
Co-Chair Safety Committee
meh@mining.ubc.ca FF 509 604 822 5475 604 822 5599
Bern Klein Professor bklein@mining.ubc.ca FF 517 604 822 3986
Sanja Miskovic Assistant Professor sanja.miskovic@ubc.ca FF 508D 604 822 6413
Ali G. Madiseh Assistant Professor ali.madiseh@ubc.ca FF 510 604 822 5599
Nadja Kunz Assistant Professor nadja.kunz@ubc.ca FF 530A 604 822 9782
Marek Pawlik Professor
Graduate Advisor
mpp@mining.ubc.ca FF 506A 604 827 5034 604 822 5599
Michael Schoen Senior Instructor michael.schoen@ubc.ca CHBE 213 604 827 4708 604 822 5599
Malcolm Scoble

Professor;

Robert E. Hallbauer Chair
in Mining Engineering

malcolms@mining.ubc.ca FF 508C 604 822 8897 604 822 5599
Dirk van Zyl Professor dvanzyl@mining.ubc.ca FF 507 604 827 3462 604 822 5599
Marcello Veiga Professor veiga@mining.ubc.ca FF 515 604 822 4332 604 822 5599


Additional Faculty

Name Position Email Office Phone Fax
Janusz Laskowski Professor Emeritus jsl@mining.ubc.ca FF 015 604 822 4949 604 822 5599
Dawn Mills Adjunct Professor pdmills@mining.ubc.ca FF 407 604 822 0073 604 822 5599

Staff

Name Specialty Email Office Phone Fax
Aaron Hope Millwright ahope@mining.ubc.ca CMP 254 604 822 3987 604 822 5599
Sally Finora Technician, Surface Chemistry Laboratory smf@mining.ubc.ca FF 401 Lab: 604 822 4292 604 822 5599
Carmen Jensen Director, Masters of Engineering Program;
Co-Chair Safety Committee.
carmenlj@mail.ubc.ca FF 508B 604 822 4642 604 822 5599
Pius Lo Technician, Coal and Mineral Processing Laboratory piuslo@mail.ubc.ca CMP 252 604 822 5044 604 822 5599
Maria Lui Graduate Secretary; (Graduate Studies Admission, Mining Course Scheduling) maria@mining.ubc.ca FF 517A 604 822 2540 604 822 5599
Malcolm MacLachlan Program Manager, Executive MBA;
Administrator;
Industry Liaison for Student Jobs.
mac@mining.ubc.ca FF 517E 604 822 4502 604 822 5599
Leslie Nichols Financial Clerk;
(Payment and Invoice Processing, HR Appointments)
leslie@mining.ubc.ca FF 517D 604 822 3829 604 822 5599
Andre Xavier Program Manager, Lifelong Learning andre.xavier@ubc.ca FF 011 604 822 5252 604 822 5599

 

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia

UBC Faculty of Applied Science
5000-2332 Main Mall,
Vancouver, BC, V6T 1Z4, Canada
Tel: 604 822 6413
Fax: 604 822 7006
Email:
Norman B. Keevil Institute of Mining Engineering
517-6350 Stores Road,
Vancouver, BC, V6T 1Z4, Canada
Tel: 604 822 2540
Fax: 604 822 5599
Email:

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC  | © Copyright The University of British Columbia